i'm naked inside my fear
the naked truth.


April 26, 2004 | 1:04 pm
i guess my birthday is officially over. i've been celebrating for days now, and it's about time i let my friends off the hook.

thank you to everyone who sent me e-cards and notes with birthday wishes. despite the things i am going through right now, this has been the best birthday to date.

and not for any particular reason, i don't think. except for ryan. he must have been sent from god for me.

which brings me to thinking about our past, and the whole girlfriend-in-another-state-ordeal. i try to think that things work out for the best. i try to think there's a master plan but you know, i've got a difficult time going with that. i do, however, believe in karma and whatnot and that if you do good things they will come back to you.

so i think of the whole situation and i wonder if it was almost a test of sorts - of life, that is. just when i thought i was weakest, life threw me a curveball and made me realize that if i had the strength to take care of that one, i had the strength to take care of myself. it made me realize that i care about this boy, to an unimaginable level, and that i am capable of doing so.

anyway, this is about my birthday.

i hadn't planned on going out without ryan for my birthday, and he was working friday night. i didn't think it mattered much to not go out the MINUTE i was 21. i have, after all, been able to drink almost anywhere in my hometown for a couple years now. it's not like i'd even need to be 21 to buy my own beer. but as i sat home and 11:15 came i started feeling like maybe i should do something.

my old roommate heather called and i met her for a beer. it only took a minute or two for everyone to find out it was my birthday (partly because i told them, but mainly because heather did) and soon enough our table was sovered in empty shot glasses.

i was wasted by midnight.

i slept at ryan's that night and the next morning we woke up around 10:30. we dropped my car off at the car audio store to get a CD player installed (my old one was stolen a while ago) and while we were waiting we went by andrya's gravesite.

i know this doesn't sound like a birthday event, but i was okay. i needed some relief and being there provided it.

we ate lunch and picked up my car.

i went to work at 5 and when i got off, ryan met me at the restaurant for a drink. a group of us went to another bar for a couple drinks and by midnight or so ryan and emily and i headed out in search of better things.

not that we found them, you know, but i still had a great time. there's nothing too exciting in baton rouge, but it was really nice to spend time with emily and check out different places with ryan.

for some reason, at 2am ryan decided i needed one more shot. we went to the caterie and i took a shot of patron. i'm going to say that's what did me in, but it probably wasn't.

after struggling to not vomit and get to sleep (the world was spinning when i'd close my eyes, so i tried sososo hard to keep them open!) i passed out. i did, of course, wake up the following morning with one of the worst hangovers i've ever had. happy birthday, laura.

last night my family and ryan went to the chimes to eat. after the chimes we did the whole cake and icecream thing, and atfer that ryan and i watched a movie.

it was still my birthday yesterday, you know, so i got everything i wanted.

i wish i could think of something more interesting to write but i can't.

before | after

miss me?

make a difference - July 12, 2007
in short - February 20, 2007
gameday - October 14, 2006
quickie - October 02, 2006
roxie bear - July 06, 2006