i'm naked inside my fear
the naked truth.


March 21, 2003 | 3:51 am
in the same twenty minutes the best and worst parts of my night occured.

after i left b@r-t's (around 2:30) i stopped by rot0los to get a salad. i talked to jordan, a girl that works in the kitchen, until three came and the bar closed. she was loaded, so i offered to bring her home. as we were leaving, i ran into another coworker, this guy brett, and offered to take him home also.

so yeah, between my lent fast and losing an old friend, i've been designated driver a couple times lately.

so i bring jordan down the road from the bar to her apartment and then i bring brett to his friend's place. when i dropped him off, he thanked me for being the responsible driver and i told him i'd recently lost a friend to an accident and wouldn't want to see it happen to someone else.

and then he opened up to me, just like that. and i know it was the alcohol, to an extent. but this is a boy that never says two words to anyone. this is someone that you know is smart as hell but just doesn't say much.

he told me of his best friend's accident that occured in front of his house outside of new orleans. his friend and three others were coming to visit him when they hit a pole (in front of his place) and smashed up the truck. the three others were able to get out of the car, and the driver (Brett's friend) was just getting out of the car as it exploded.

brett watched his best friend sit in his truck and burn to death.

he heard him scream.

and then he thanked me again. he said he always gives up his keys if anyone thinks he shouldn't drive.

then he told me he wants to talk to me about some things. he told me he'd talk to me next time i came worked, and if we didn't work together anytime soon we'd meet up there and talk.

and then he told me to be careful going home, thanked me for the ride again and again, and told me he'd look forward to talking to me.

it made me feel good to have a drunken single guy in my car that talked to me like a real person and didn't even mention the "want to come inside?" thing. it felt so wonderful to think that there is another person i can have a platonic friendship with. it made me feel good that i know i did the right thing in bringing jordan and brett home and i know they both appreciated it.

and then i got home.

the worst part of my night is getting out of my car. and i know i'm paranoid, but don't i have every right to be? there's been no forced entry on any of these serial killings, so this guy's got to be following them in their homes, unless they ALL didn't keep their doors locked. it doesn't make me feel comfortable as it is to come home in the middle of the morning and walk in the parking lot to the complex and then to my apartment door. it doesn't help that my key doesn't work well and it's not quick and easy opening the door. but that was before girls died. that was just when they were robbed or raped.

why do i have to be so scared for my life? and why is it that a man with no face can take away my constitutional rights to freedom and homeland safety?

now that it's 4am, i'm going to sleep. i hope.

before | after

miss me?

make a difference - July 12, 2007
in short - February 20, 2007
gameday - October 14, 2006
quickie - October 02, 2006
roxie bear - July 06, 2006