i'm naked inside my fear
the naked truth.


March 02, 2003 | 3:28 pm
i just don't know that i'm excited about mardi gras.

don't get me wrong, being in baton rouge means being an hour away from new orleans (38 minutes with me behind the wheel) and it wouldn't be that big of a deal to go and then come home in the middle of the morning and have my bed to sleep in.

it wouldn't be difficult to get a group of people to go to bourbon street, hop bars, and act foolish. in fact, almost all of my friends are there right this moment doing that very thing, at 3:30pm.

how many out of state people wish they could go to mardi gras, just once? to see the crowds and the parades and those women who insist on walking around topless in the middle of the street. how many people wish they were close enough to make the drive and drink till you drop and still know where to go to have a good time for the afterparty?

since i've worked in a bar, being in close contact with liquor and drunk people two to five days a week turns me off from the situation.

but is that why i'm not going to new orleans this year? or am i just too fucking lazy?

before | after

miss me?

make a difference - July 12, 2007
in short - February 20, 2007
gameday - October 14, 2006
quickie - October 02, 2006
roxie bear - July 06, 2006